6th International Disaster Mitigation Specialty

Co-Chairs: Alan Lloyd and Ioan Nistor

The Disaster Mitigation Specialty Conference focuses on assessing, analyzing, and mitigating the effects of natural and anthropogenic disasters on infrastructure and society. The conference will explore the impact of disasters including extreme weather events, blasts, fires, tsunamis, and other extreme events from the perspectives of risk assessment, forensic engineering, field measurements, numerical modeling, experimental programs, prevention and mitigation techniques and emergency planning. The conference will feature Special Sessions with a focus on floods and performance-based seismic design with keynote specialty presentations by Prof. Colin Rennie and Prof. Murat Saatcioglu, respectively.

  • Special Session on Floods: Keynote by Prof. Colin Rennie, University of Ottawa
  • Special Session on Performance-Based Seismic Design: Keynote by Prof. Murat Saatcioglu, University of Ottawa
  • Technical Session on Protective Design: Chaired by Abass Braimah, Carleton University
  • Technical Session on Climate Change: Chair TBD
  • Technical Session on Fire: Chair TBD
  • Technical Session on Disaster Management: Chair TBD

Conference Chair – Lloyd Waugh, P.Eng.
Telephone: 506-453-5050

Honorary ChairJohn Bliss, P.Eng.

Technical ChairJeff Rankin, P.Eng.

CSCE National – Lois Arkwright

Partnerships – Carol MacQuarrie, P.Eng.


Call 506-451-9628 to find out how you can showcase your brand at CSCE 2018